Tuesday, February 4, 2014

Karnataka defeated Maharashtra to win the Ranji Trophy 2014


Karnataka on 2 February 2014 defeated Maharashtra by seven wickets to win the Ranji Trophy 2014 at Hyderabad.
Karnataka, while chasing a target of 157 runs on the last and fifth day of the tournament was successful to clinch winning by losing only three wickets in the second innings. Karnataka bowlers R Vinay Kumar and Shreyash Gopal claimed four wickets each. The remaining two wickets of Maharashtra team were taken by Abhimanyu Mithun.
• Man of the match: Lokesh Rahul of Karnataka, who scored highest 131 in the first innings and 29 in the second.
Brief Score:
• Karnataka: 515 and 157 for three
• Maharashtra: 305 and 366 all out
Captains of the two teams
• Karnataka: R Vinay
• Maharashtra: Rohit Motwani
Karnataka’s moment of glory arrived after 14 years of wait. This is the seventh title win for Karnataka; the first trophy was won in 1988-99 season. Captain of Karnataka, R Vinay became the sixth captain of the state to win the title. The previous captains of the state who have won the title are
• EAS Prasanna (twice)
• Brijesh Patel
• Anil Kumble
• Rahul Dravid
• Sunil Joshi